Education

You are here: Home > Education > Professional Series Webinars > Swallowing Function Following Total Laryngectomy
We found 0 results matching your criteria.

Webinar Course Description

Total laryngectomy surgery is a well-established treatment for advanced or recurrent laryngeal disease. Following surgery, substantial changes to the anatomy result in significant alterations to swallowing physiology. In addition, the commonly reported difficulties with leaking voice prostheses are frequently related to swallow dysfunction. Understanding the components of post-laryngectomy swallowing, the best way to assess function and dysfunction, and evidence-based treatment options will ensure that clinicians are able to provide comprehensive rehabilitation to their patients. This live, one-hour webinar will provide insights into how to best manage swallowing dysfunction in patients following total laryngectomy surgery.





WHEN

Register now for the following dates:

Tuesday, August 11, 2020

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM CDT (10:00 AM to 11:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM UTC / GMT)

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM EDT (9:00 AM to 10:00 AM PDT / 4:00 PM to 5:00 PMPM UTC / GMT)

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM PDT (3:00 PM to 4:00 PM EDT / 8:00 PM to 9:00 PM UTC / GMT)


TIME ORDERED AGENDA

12:00 PM - 12:02 PM
Introduction and Webinar Overview

12:02 PM - 12:07 PM
Components of Successful Swallow Following Total Laryngectomy Surgery

12:07 PM - 12:25 PM
Description and Classification of Dysphagia Following Total Laryngectomy Surgery

12:25 PM - 12:37 PM
Treatment of Dysphagia Following Total Laryngectomy Surgery

12:37 PM - 12:45 PM
Esophageal Dysfunction

12:45 PM - 12:50 PM
Stricture vs. Spasm

12:50 PM - 1:00 PM
Review and Questions


LEARNING OBJECTIVES

Participants will identify the etiology of swallow dysfunction through interpretation of videofluoroscopic assessment.

Participants will describe the differences between post-laryngectomy stricture and spasm.

Participants will describe which laryngectomy patients are likely to benefit from dilatation treatment.


GUEST PRESENTER

Course Presenter

Julia Maclean, PH.D., is the Clinical Specialist in Speech Pathology at St George Hospital. In addition to her clinical work in head and neck surgery and oncology, Dr. Maclean holds a postdoctoral research position within the Motility Unit, Department of Gastroenterology. In 2016, she obtained her title as Conjoint Associate Professor at UNSW Sydney, St George & Sutherland Clinical School of Medicine. Dr. Maclean has a special interest in and has conducted research into long-term swallowing function following head and neck cancer treatment and swallowing after total laryngectomy surgery over the past 20 years. She is a member of the St George Swallow Centre, which has had continuous competitive grant funding for 25 years to fund research into swallowing disorders.

Financial Disclosure:
Dr. Maclean is employed by St George Swallow Center, Sydney, Australia.

Non-financial disclosure:
Dr. Maclean has no nonfinancial relationships to disclose.

Course Moderator

Emily Poole, MA, CCC-SLP
Clinical Manager, InHealth Technologies

Financial Disclosure:
Ms. Poole is employed by InHealth Technologies.

Non-financial disclosure:
Ms. Poole has no non-financial relationships to disclose.


DETAILS

Pre-registration is required before the webinar at:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/rt/2676974770158689040

1. Attendance will be recorded throughout the webinar. All participants must be present for the entire webinar for continuing education credits to be offered.

2. If you prefer to watch this webinar with a group of your colleagues, you must sign in with your individually registered email address to receive credit.

3. Upon completion of the webinar, you will receive links to Learning Objectives and Feedback forms. These must be completed within 7 days to receive a certificate of completion. If attendance is verified and all forms are completed, ASHA CEU forms will be completed on your behalf.